Crochet- Sweater pattern help needed

Butterfly Ink

Question

Hello. I am a self taught crocheter and I can usually figure out a pattern using logic or just being able to  see it in my head.  This EASY  :reyes pattern has me pulling my hair out!  I am at the row where it says join body and sleeves.  My stitch count is correct but if I total the stitches in row one, added up per the pattern, it comes to 142.  I am assuming that I am to work across the sweater an join the sleeve and work across the sleeve stitches.  However with that line of thought, I can get up to "dc in the next 21 sc and turn".  I do not have 21 stitches more stitches. I just cannot see how this pattern works.  I have included the link to the pattern, which is free, for anyone who is generous enough to help.

http://www.redheart.com/books/crochet-made-easy

JOIN BODY AND SLEEVES:

With RS facing, attach CA in first sc of Row 4 of Stripe Section. 

Row 1: Ch 3, dc in each of next 17 (20) sc, [dc2tog] twice, dc in each of next 26 (28) sc, [dc2tog] twice; dc in each of next 41 (45) sts, [dc2tog] twice; dc in each of next 26 (28) sc, [dc2tog] twice; dc in each of next 18 (21) sc, turn (Where in the name of all that is blue are these stitches?? :no )

post-77545-0-02047900-1462406626_thumb.jpg

post-77545-0-34570300-1462406666_thumb.jpg

7 answers to this question

I'm fairly certain something is missing.  Although the section title says 'join body and sleeves', nowhere does it tell you to add the sleeves.  

I assume you are making the larger size, since the 'joining row' directions adds to 143 stitches  (I'm counting the chain-3 as a stitch) plus 4 double decreases (8 decreases uses up 16 stitches) for that size :  143 + 16 is 159.  In this size, the body is 95 stitches, and each sleeve is 32 stitches, also for a total of 159 stitches. (body@ 95 plus 2 sleeves @ 64).