Tiny hat help!

Mookie

Question

Hi

I'm new and I'm a beginner!

I've made a few blankets and shawls and have been really enjoying myself. I'm find it too difficult to read patterns so prefer to watch online tutorials. I watched a tutorial yesterday and made a hat. It was suppose to be 0-3 but is so small it doesn't even fit on a doll. I thought I'd got confused with the US and UK terms but I've been back and watched the video again and I have watched, then copied every single stitch the lady does. I've followed the video twice and at the end I end up with a tiny hat and the lady ends up with a much bigger hat. What am I doing wrong? Please help! X

post-77247-0-32321200-1457430627_thumb.jpeg

7 answers to this question

As it looks beautifully proportioned, and just beautiful in it's self, I am going to suggest teh tutorial used a heavier yarn and a bigger hook. Did the tutorial mention gauge/tension at all? Did they say which weight yarn and hook to use? That's teh only thing I can think of.

Thank you so much for your reply. I used the same hook as the tutorial but I used a different yarn. The yarn the tutorial used was drops Alaska ( I have no idea what that is?) and I used a WI yarn. I didn't know anything about yarn, there was no mention of tension at all.

Drops Alaska is an Aran yarn (I am assuming you are in the UK, correct me if I am wrong) depending on which WI yarn you are using you could be on too light a yarn. Is it the DK you are using? if so then it IS the yarn.

Welcome to Crochetville!

I agree with Itchycrochet.  There are a number of things that impact size.  The three most common are yarn weight, hook size and your tension.  Another factor is your mood.  If you're tense, upset or angry, your stitches will be tighter than if you are relaxed, happy or calm.