Chevron blanket

katkinson816

Question

Hello all,

I am a beginner crocheter and I downloaded a chevron pattern blanket that said beginners were welcome to try it. So I bought it and when I got the pattern I did not understand it. I even contacted the owner but she never responded. Perhaps someone could translate the beginning instructions to me. This is a Christmas present to my mom. I would've started earlier but I barely got the money for the yarn. Any help is greatly appreciated. :) 

Dc in 4th ch from hook (skipped chs count as a dc), dc 6, sk 1 ch, dc, sk

1ch, dc 6, *3dc in next st, dc 6, sk 1 ch, dc, sk 1 ch, dc 6; repeat from * across,

2dc in last st. 97 (129, 145, 161)

9 answers to this question

I understand most of it except the beginning. There should be 129 chains right? When I start the "Dc in 4th ch from hook (skipped chs count as a dc), dc 6" -- should those 2 beginning chains (Dc in 4th ch from hook (skipped chs count as a dc)), be apart of the dc 6? 

Also, when counting for the 129 chains, do I count all of the 3dc as 3 or as 1 whole dc?

Thank you so much!!

Welcome to Crochetville!

First, don't count on it being a Christmas Present.  Shoot for Mother's Day.  My first big afghan took me just over 4 months to complete.  It looks like you're working on a big one!

Second, I assume you're making the second size ... 129 stitches across.  You'll need 129 chains + 2 (for the first dc height) = 131 chains.  The instruction above the first row should have told you how many chains you'd need.