Shape troubles

Emma Hunt

Question

HI guys, im very new to crochet (i only started yesterday) and i am just getting the hang of some stitches.

At the mo i am trying to make a scarf but every row i seem to stitch gets shorter and shorter so looks like a pyramid now?! Im quite confused as to why though because i have been going right to the end of each row.

I know im only just getting started but am i getting ahead of myself here? I thought it would be a good place to start?!

Any help would be appreciated, thanks

Emma

8 answers to this question

Welcome to the ville :hook

it is a very common problem to have  ;)

You need to stop at the end of each row and carefully count your stitches, to make shure you actually have the same number of stitches in each row.  It is very easy to accidentally skip the first and/or last stitch of a row.  So it is best to put a marker into those stitches as soon as you make them, that way on the next row you will see them and be sure to stitch into them.  You can loop a short piece of yarn into the stitch, or use a bobby pin (or kirby grip I think you might call it), some people use paper clips but those tend to snag for me.  Or a safety pin.   Once you have completed the following row and are sure your count is right, you can remove the first set of markers, although the markers can helpful if you need to count rows.  

I saw in your other post you have some books; which books did you get?  (I love crochet books :book )

Hi Emma, welcome to Crocheting and Crochetville!

This is a common newbie mistake.  It takes some practice to recognize where the first stitch of row 1 is when you come to the end of row 2 (and so forth), so if you overlook that stitch you lose a stitch each row.

What stitch are you making?  I'm going to be multi-lingual here, because you're in the UK and in the US we use the same terms but they mean different things in case you haven't encountered that already.