Lump in top of hat?

Dragonfarms

Question

Hello everyone! I created an account here because I have just started learning to crochet and I have been struggling a bit with starting my hats! I have made one hat sucessfully, which looks great except for at the start of the hat (where the hole at the top is) there is a big lump! When I wear it, it sticks up. This might seem like a dumb question but it's only because I'm a beginner and wasn't sure where else to go as I tried to find answers but nothing came up. I don't know what details I should provide but this has happened with two different hat patterns I've tried so far and have restarted multiple times hoping I could fix it by making it looser. I really appreciate if anyone out there could tell me why this keeps happening! Thank you :•)

2 answers to this question

Hi, welcome to the ville!

If you can show us a photo of the hats that will help.

Also tell us the name and lcation of the patterns. If free online, give us a link. Tell us what yarn and hook size you used. All that info will be helpful in advising you on how to solve it.

I think that's why they invented pom poms on hats, to hide little flaws like that!

Everybody has a different stitch tension (tighter/looser, as well as taller/shorter), and this includes designers.  It could be that the designer of the pattern you are using has a different tension than yours which is causing a conflict.

When you are working in the round (flat circle), stitch height, and the ratio of diameter to circumference, matters.  It sounds like your center is cupping; this happens if the circumference is too small for the diameter.  The fix is less diameter (fewer rows or shorter stitches) or more circumference (more stitches).  

Ruffling is the opposite - the circumference is to big for the diameter, and the fix is more diameter (taller stitches, add a row with no increases) or reducing the number of stitches.