Pattern Help Please! Bernat Patchwork Blanket Pattern

LindsB1986

Question

I am fairly new to crochet - I have made a toddler hat and a large chevron blanket thus far.

I am just starting my next project, a patchwork blanket - pattern available online for free from Yarnspirations/Bernat Link: http://com.yarnspirations.pattern-pdfs.s3.amazonaws.com/WEB-B-SCHNK-PatchworkBlanket-ENG%281%29.pdf

I have just started the foundation chain and am already stuck. The pattern states: With A, ch 16. *With B, ch 17. With A, ch 17. Rep from * twice more. With A, ch 2. 120 ch total.

I have made 16 chain stitches with colour A, now it is time to chain 17 stitches with colour B, but i have no clue how to do that. Do i start a new chain at the slipknot? 

The pattern notes: To change color, work to last 2 loops on hook and draw new color through last 2 loops and proceed, keeping color change to WS of work. As this is a chain, i don't have more than one loop on my hook at a time so this note is of no help to me at the moment.

If someone could have a look at the pattern and help me understand how to change colours that would be awesome. 

In some of my online searching i have found that others who have tried this pattern have just made all of the squares and then laced them together at the end. I am not in a rush for this project and would like to avoid doing it this way. I want to learn how to complete this pattern as written. Appreciate any help!

Thank you in advance!

5 answers to this question

I am fairly new to crochet - I have made a toddler hat and a large chevron blanket thus far.

I am just starting my next project, a patchwork blanket - pattern available online for free from Yarnspirations/Bernat Link: http://com.yarnspirations.pattern-pdfs.s3.amazonaws.com/WEB-B-SCHNK-PatchworkBlanket-ENG%281%29.pdf