So confused, please help with pattern

Glo1196

Question

I'm new here and I've been crocheting for about 4 months. I Want to make this sweater, and have made the yoke. Thought it would be the hardest part, but the body has me baffled. Here is the pattern.

http://library.ravelry.com/Mandy612719/41399/littleman.pdf?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJNNSUP6J3RN4WZYQ&Expires=1423362699&Signature=Y9uBPo%2BBeclfLvb8dJuiGjYGis8%3D

I'm stuck at row six. First if all when I end row 5 I'm at the front of the sweater, not anywhere near the arm hole. Then just translating row 6, I'm just not seeing it. Please help. I've invested so much time in this I don't want to give up.

Thanks

11 answers to this question

okay...Row 6 (7) (8): ch2, turn, dc to ch 1 space, dc in ch 1 space, skip to next ch 1 space, dc in ch 1 space, forming an arm hole, dc to next ch 1 space, dc in ch 1 space, skip to next ch 1 space, dc in ch 1 space, forming the second arm hole, dc across.

You have 4 chain 1 spaces.

This is what you're going to do:    chain 2 and turn,  double crochet in each double crochet until the chain 1 space, double crochet in the chain 1 space.

THEN, skip over all the double crochet (other words DON"T do any double crochets)

at the next chain one space work a double crochet 

double crochet in each double crochet until the next chain 1 space and work a double crochet in that,  

THEN, skip over all the double crochets,

at the next chain one space work a double crochet,

work double crochet until the end of the row.

I only worked two rows but it should look like this.   

post-4753-0-36158500-1423415044_thumb.jpg

Great visual!

Yeah, the first time you run into this construction you're thinking ??what??, but then realize how ingenious it is to make sleeves, heck the whole sweater without seaming.