Circular crochet

emmyk89

Question

Hello everyone! I'm new to crocheting.

I have practised the stitches many times in swatches and not really made anything, i have made a few flat circles too. I have watched loads of videos and read on the net, i also have a book by DK.
My sister bought me a little crochet 'make a giraffe' kit, which i think is aimed at beginners because it tells you how to begin crochet and all the basic stitches.

Ive pretty much got the hang of reading crochet instructions but i am struggling with crocheting in the round/circular/tubes.

I keep getting confused with counting, number of stiches and things just don't look right! Its frustrating me to the point where i want to give up. I have some questions as i cannot find the answer by doing a search as different websites say different things!

Btw i am in the UK so i am using UK terms. Referring to the instructions that have come with this little giraffe kit, it uses Double crochet stitch (US single stitch)

1. At the end of each round, when the instructions say "slip stitch to beginning of round" do you do the slst into the last stitch of of the prev round? Which i mark with a safety pin.

2. do you do the first stitch of the next round in the same stitch you did the slip stitch into? Ive read different things about this. 

3. When i chain one at the end of the round, finish that round then count the 'V's there is 2 extra? I am so confused, is one the slip stitch and 1 the chain stitch from the previous round? Do i skip the first 2 V's and do the first stich in the 3rd from hook V? (the instructions say after each round "9 stitches" but when i count there is 11 Vs)