Pattern Help! Am I really stupid?

owens3116

Question

Hi all

I have brought a vintage pattern of Etsy, and im fairly new to crochet im struggling to understand it - I need it to be very simple for me to understand. Its only a chicken egg cosy that i want to make for my daughter. 

Would any of you more experienced peeps be able to help me please?

x

13 answers to this question

Also when i make the head i have two round circles 15sc each, however when you join sides its asking you to do 2 sc , sc but only end with 16sc?

On the body

Stsiches at base of head, ch 2 2 dc in eac of nxt 4 st, st 1 dc seam? Then do i just continue round with the other 4 dc? Then join with a

Slp st?

Sorry confused !

Vintage patterns can be very difficult to read.  They make the assumption that the crocheter already knows the shorthand of the time.  They usually don't spell out the directions very clearly.

RoseRed is right - vintage patterns can be hard to understand. 

This one's not too bad. I just made one to test it out; it is a little bit off from what the picture shows for it, so I'm not sure I did everything exactly right but it came out close enough I'd be happy with it. 

Also when i make the head i have two round circles 15sc each, however when you join sides its asking you to do 2 sc , sc but only end with 16sc?

On the body
Stsiches at base of head, ch 2 2 dc in eac of nxt 4 st, st 1 dc seam? Then do i just continue round with the other 4 dc? Then join with a
Slp st?

Sorry confused !

For the head when they tell you to join the two sides, you will hold both pieces together and work through the stitches on each of them to join them as just one flat circle. That's why you end with "only" 16 sc.