blocking

jstephens788

Question

I am new to crochet and have never blocked any pieces yet. I have a couple of scarves that I think might look more finished if I were to block them. I wanted to know if anyone had any good resources on how to block pieces or any tips for me. Do most of you use actual blocking boards or do you use another surface in your house? Also, how do you decide what pieces you are going to block? Thanks, any advice will be appreciated!

5 answers to this question

All i ever do with garments or accessories is lay them flat to dry. Well i did put a slouchy hat over a ball to dry. But never had to pin out anything other than doilies or snowflake ornaments.

My husband made me a drying rack with screen on it so things can dry faster and i just lay them on that.

What fiber are your scarves?

All i ever do with garments or accessories is lay them flat to dry. Well i did put a slouchy hat over a ball to dry. But never had to pin out anything other than doilies or snowflake ornaments.

My husband made me a drying rack with screen on it so things can dry faster and i just lay them on that.

What fiber are your scarves?

The main scarf that I was thinking of is made with Aunt Lydia's crochet thread, and then I have a couple made with Red Heart and Simply Soft.

I never bother to block scarves. The way they bunch up when worn makes blocking them pointless, to me. That is just my preference though - there's absolutely nothing wrong with blocking them if you want to. =) 

That said, the only thread items I've ever pinned out were doilies so I could starch them.

I do not block items made with acrylic, regardless of what they are/what stitch pattern was used. I know some people will insist otherwise, but honestly the couple of acrylic pieces I blocked it made such a minimal difference once the item was unpinned, I do not feel like it's worth the time and effort to do it.