need a help to read a pattern

swan_crochet

Question

Hello everyone,

I am new to crochet patterns and I need some helps with my first project.

It says 2 dc in 2-ch sp, * dc in tr, 5 dc in 5-ch, dc in tr, (3 dc, 5 ch, 3 dc) in corner 5-ch.

2 dc in 2-ch sp: what I understand that I'll do 2 double crochet in the second stitch. sp does it mean that I'll leave the next stitch?

dc in tr: does it mean a double treble crochet stitch? where I should do it?

5 dc in 5-ch, dc in tr: this means I should make dc in the fifth stitch from the begining then in the same stitch I do dc in tr?

(3 dc, 5 ch, 3 dc) in corner 5-ch: I don't understand this.

I appreciate your help and I am sorry if these questions look naive to you

6 answers to this question

Hello everyone,

I am new to crochet patterns and I need some helps with my first project.

It says 2 dc in 2-ch sp, * dc in tr, 5 dc in 5-ch, dc in tr, (3 dc, 5 ch, 3 dc) in corner 5-ch.

2 dc in 2-ch sp: what I understand that I'll do 2 double crochet in the second stitch. sp does it mean that I'll leave the next stitch?

What this is saying is that you will do 2 dc in the space where on the previous row you did a chain 2.

dc in tr: does it mean a double treble crochet stitch? where I should do it?

Here you will be making a dc in the next stitch that is a tr.

5 dc in 5-ch, dc in tr: this means I should make dc in the fifth stitch from the begining then in the same stitch I do dc in tr?

In the previous row you did a chain 5, this is where you will do 5 dc and then 1 dc in the next stitch that is a tr.

(3 dc, 5 ch, 3 dc) in corner 5-ch: I don't understand this.

I gather this is a square of some kind you are making?  on each corder you should have a space where on the previous row you made a chain 5.  This is where you will do 3dc, chain 5, 3 dc.

I appreciate your help and I am sorry if these questions look naive to you