Beanie pattern help

tekmaster5000

Question

Here is the link to the pattern I am using: http://happyinred.blogspot.nl/2011/12/beanie-pattern-for-your-man.html (you have to scroll down for the English version)

I am very new at patterns and I wanted to try my hand at a beanie or my boyfriend after making one for my friend's baby. I don't think I am doing this right. The shape it has taken on seems quite off to me? Is it off or is it just me? I wanna know if I should just scrap it before I go on any further.

I just completed row 10, btw

Thanks for the help

post-68992-0-46867600-1384376741_thumb.jpg

post-68992-0-13304300-1384376750_thumb.jpg

5 answers to this question

well, you only have a few rows left, so it won't take long to finish it if you want to see how it turns out.  

to me it looks like there are too many increases and that is why it looks more like a plate than a hat.  i too think it should look more like a bowl.  but if you are using very soft slinky yarn that could be part of why it looks flat.  

this pattern, like many found on blogs, seems to be missing some vital info.   A good, helpful, pattern should tell you the measurements of the finished item, the number of stitches and rows in a 4" section, and ideally give a stitch count at the end of rows/rounds.    Also specific info about the yarn used in the original and the hook size, as a atarting point to get gauge.  

here is a good tutorial on crocheting hats http://www.crochetcabana.com/html/round_hat.html

the info on diameter and circumference is particularly helpful in getting the right size to fit a specific person.  

It looks like it will be way too big.  The shape seems more or less OK, row 10 is the third round working without increasing and it's just starting to cup, which looks right.