Gauge Trouble - Is it just me?

Ramblinlady

Question

I have been crocheting since I was about 10 years old. Started with doilies. Taught by Nana, who was right-handed so I learned crochet right handed, even though I am left-handed.

But from the beginning, I have never found a pattern with a gauge I can match. I have changed hooks, 3 sizes up and 3 sizes down. I have tried it with a large variety of yarns/threads. But it never works. Either my swatch is too short or tall, narrow or wide. Never the correct gauge.

What I've usually ended up doing is making things where exact size isn't so much of an issue. And I've made hundreds of gifts and sold my projects too. But I always feel like I'm less than a "good crocheter" because I can't get that darn gauge to work.

I don't make clothes for myself, and usually if I'm making something for a gift I can get the measurements I need and make the item just fine.

But am I the only person who has this issue with gauge?

4 answers to this question

Kathy,

Thank you. That makes a lot of sense. I'm a rider when I work with most yarn. Although I use a much tighter tension when I'm working with threads. But this probably explains my shock at times when I see a baby pattern for using sport weight yarn and a J hook. Must be a yanker. My Mom learned to crochet twenty years after I did, and our work is totally different as far as gauge goes. I think she's a lifter.

I also learned something that was quite an eye opener on this subject when I first started to make thread bears. I read a pattern that said "crochet 2 arms or 2 legs one right after the other. Don't do one of the pair one day, and the other one the next day. Because a lot of the time you will have 2 different sized extremities." And you know, I found out they were right. So, even from day to day, your crochet gauge can be slightly different.