starting a registgerd charity in Canada

head2toepets2go

Has anyone done this - or know how complicated/time consuming this is? I've been to the government website, but all I can find are the forms ... I was wondering for a very small charity if it took a lot of time (or if once your registered it "only" the annual filing of forms). I'm a trained accountant and very organized so the "paperwork" part doesn't worry me

I am thinking about (a little more than thinking) about starting a little something, and although I don't actually expect to do a large amount of fundraising, it might be an incentive for people to "chip in" a little, as there will be a few hundred dollars in "set up" costs. Also do I need to have a seperate bank account? I'm thinking yes, but am worried about the monthly service fees ... I did say "little" that $15-20 a month adds up.

Also on a more "crochet" side (this charity involves crochet projects) .. do you think its nervy to ask for donations of thread crochet items if I myself don't do it? Anyways I am still in the figuring out process and just want to have it done consistantly from the beginning.

Thanks for any help you can offer,

Fran

Fran,

Hi! In 2004 I started what I thought would be a little project - it's grown to almost 500 participates since then. Anyway, it's located in the USA and there are some of the things I've figured out.

1) In the USA you don't have to register as a non-profit (501©3) unless you want tax exempt status and to guarantee your donors can take their donations off their taxes

2) Really good people will give to a worthwhile cause, even if they can't take it off their taxes. Also they like to give things other than money - especially small handmade items.

3) You are right that the start-up costs add up - you need to decide what is your comfort level of donating to "your" charity.