Gauge Help

joules

Question

Hi I'm new to crochet, my name is Julie and I like in the UK. I have been learning from Crochet for Dummies.

Recently I bought a book full of granny squares which all finish to 6 inches. However my first attempt is 6 inches by 7 inches

The stitch gauge is correct buy my rows are out by one inch! I am using a 4mm hook and DK yarn as the book says.

Can anyone help me figure out what is wrong. I was hoping to use the book to make a sampler throw but can't if my squares are rectangles. I have re-read the instructions and am sure i am doing the correct stich, when i compare mine to the picture my stitches looks streched out compare to the origonal.

Help! :think

9 answers to this question

It could be that you crochet loosely, and that would make it looked stretched out. Try a size smaller hook and see if the gauge comes out correctly.

It should effect both...but it will depend greatly on how tight or loosely you crochet ...keep trying different hooks to get the desired gauge. Good Luck...!

If it were a gauge problem they would still be square, just a different size than suggested. If you are working correctly in rnds, then I can't figure out how one direction could be wider than the other.

You do know that English crochet patterns use different terminology than US patterns, I assume.

Why don't you start again and work one round, then measure and see

if it is square. Then work the next round, measure again, and see if it is square. Keep doing this until the work changes proportions, and you should be able to see where the problem is. And be sure all four corners are

perfectly square. Be sure to let us know if you figure it out! This is a problem I've never met before!

If you can get them square, it really does not matter if they come out

6", 7" or whatever. Different yarns can give different results.

Jean Leinhauser

Creative Partners