handicapped crochet?

is there any thing out there to help some one who has lost most or all of the use of one hand to crochet or knit?

i am a cook in a nursing home and i helped the activites director with a crochet class. a few of our residents would love to crochet again but have almost no use in one hand. i was thinking of something to hold the hook that could be clamped to a table or their wheelchair.And they use their good hand to hold the yarn. is what i'm thinking impossibale or could it work? let me know if you have any ideas.

thank you :yarn

I'm not sure about crochet , but I've seen these looms, knifty knitter?, they come in different colors 3-4 in a pak, you make hats and round things, purses? lots of things can be made with tubes. I haven't tried one, but it may be easier for them to do. I think you just weave the yarn around the prongs and then pull the yarn over. I've seen them at walmart and hobby lobby.

In Europe there used to be a common knitting aid called a knitting sheath, basically a smooth curved piece of wood with a hole down the centre to receive the blunt end of the needle. the busy knitter could hold it under her arm to keep it steady, and free one hand. I believe these are still used on some of the remoter Scottish islands , and I found a link to some museum examples ( very elaborate ones given as love tokens:hug )

http://www.gtj.org.uk/en/themeitems/21946

I would imagine a reasonably competent woodworker could make something similar for a hook:hook , especially if it's long like a tunisian hook, the benefit of tucking under the arm is that your ladies might have some control of the hook.

I have a lot of personal experience of trying to clamp things to wheelchairs or trays, and removable screw clamps can't take constant movement :no .