How to read pattern?

Joeys

Question

Hi  I'm joey 

I'm very new to crochet.  I just bought very first starter kit that came with instructions but did not teach me how to read pattern. 

I'm so stuck from round 3 onwards.  

Would appreciate if can help me with what it means from round 3 onwards.

And also how to pick up front loops with needle to close.  

Thank you very much! 

16281550818913537906621762566640.jpg

4 answers to this question

You have a circle of 12 stitches at the end of round 2.

You are going to increase.  (Each round adds 6 sc stitches)

ROUND 3   2 single crochet in first stitch , one sc in second stitch,  2 sc in 3rd stitch,   1 sc in 4th stitch 2 sc in 5th stitch, 1 sc in 6th  stitch etc until you have a circle of 18 stitches.

IN ROUND 4  2 SC in first stitch. 1 sc in second stitch, 1 sc in third stitch, 2 sc in 4th stitch, 1 sc in fifth and 6th stitch etc until you have 24 stitches

Round 5 2 sc , followed by 1 sc in the next 3 stitches, etc until you have 30 stitches 

Continue that pattern (2sc , sc, sc, sc, sc (+1 sc each round) ) until you reach a circle of 42 stitches. 

Then do 4 rounds without adding any stitches (42 stitches per round)

Then you Decrease. Same pattern but single crochet 2 stitches together followed by 5 sc. (End up with 36 stiches)

Sc 2 together follwed by 4 sc (30 stitches)

Sc 2 together follwed by 3 sc (24 stitches ) etc until you have 18 stitches

Edited by ratdog

24 minutes ago, ratdog said:

You have a circle of 12 stitches at the end of round 2.

You are going to increase.  (Each round adds 6 sc stitches)

ROUND 3   2 single crochet in first stitch , one sc in second stitch,  2 sc in 3rd stitch,   1 sc in 4th stitch 2 sc in 5th stitch, 1 sc in 6th  stitch etc until you have a circle of 18 stitches.

IN ROUND 4  2 SC in first stitch. 1 sc in second stitch, 1 sc in third stitch, 2 sc in 4th stitch, 1 sc in fifth and 6th stitch etc until you have 24 stitches