Whimsical Stitches - Lauren Espy question

Jorja

Question

Does anyone know why when I try and crochet a pattern and its supposed to be round it goes wavy and does anyone what I can do to fix it? For example the jellyfish pattern for the body goes:

Round 1: 6 sc in magic ring (6 sts)

R2: 2 sc in each st around. (12 sts)

R3: *Sc 1, 2 sc in next st,* 6 times. (18 sts)

R4: *Sc 2, 2 sc in next st,* 6 times. (24 sts)

R5: *Sc 3, 2 sc in next st,* 6 times. (30 sts)

R6: *Sc 4, 2 sc in next st,* 6 times. (36 sts)

R7: *Sc 5, 2 sc in next st,* 6 times. (42 sts)

R8-14: Sc 42.

R15: Through FRONT loops only, *Sc 1, hdc 1, sc 1 in one st, sc 1 in next st,* 21 times (84 sts)

Sl st and fasten off.

(p.s they are in US crochet terms) 

Thank you in advance I'm new to crochet!

2 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville and to crochet!

The scheme you gave thru round 7 is the 'rule of thumb' for SC, that works for the 'average crocheter', or crocheter with average stitch tension/gauge. (start with 6 in the center, and add 6 each round, to make a flat circle. 

Rnds 1 thru 7 should 'theoretically' make a round circle, for the average crocheter--it is a scheme you will see repeated at the beginning of a lot of stuffed toys.  If your stitches are a bit shorter than average, it could ruffle due to the rules of geometry for a flat circle (ratio of circumference to diameter--don't feel bad, I have this problem too, and have to make adjustments for a lot of things).  However, it may not be an issue for this pattern because the following rounds 8-14 are made without any increases, which should make it look like a pouch, like this: U , which will take the ruffles out.  The U shape is a perfectly reasonable shape for a jellyfish's "float", if you were to add tentacles at the top of the U, and turned it upside down so the tentacles hang down.  I hope that makes sense?