Pattern / Stitch Question

AmyR

Question

My crochet pattern is a dog sweater. I've been doing crochet for about 3-4 years now but have only done basic blankets, scarf's, dish-clothes, doily's, etc... 

My question is on how the pattern is written for the 3rd row. (The first row is a chain, 2nd row is dc and FPdc).

Row 3 starts with ch 3, turn, dc in next dc, dc across to last st, 2 dc in last dc. What I'm not understanding is after the ch 3 & turn "dc in next dc" ???

Does that mean dc in the space (area between the post's) made from the previous row? OR, do I dc in the next st (on top of the previous dc, as if I'm doing rows of dc) ?    

I'm probably reading into this pattern more than I should but I don't want to crochet for hours then have to start over..

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

1 answer to this question

"Row 3 starts with ch 3, turn, dc in next dc, dc across to last st, 2 dc in last dc." 

The underlined may seem a little ambiguous, but it means 'stop short of the last stitch'.  Normally/commonly if a pattern wants you do DC (or whatever) for a whole row, it would say 'DC across' or 'DC to end of row'.

So for your pattern, you make 1 DC into each DC until you arrive at the last stitch, and put 2 in that last stitch.