New to crochet - correct row?

pennyfarthing12

Question

Hi everyone, I am brand new to crochet and think I'm messing something up but not sure what it is - hope you can help! I am making a Toft animal (Mike the eel) amigurumi.

The starting ring, Rnd 1 and Rnd 2 went good.  Rnd 3 instructions are (dc2, dc2 into next st) 6 times (24). This looks fine to me and there are the correct 24 stitches back to the start of the spiral, but my stitch marker is suddenly at 6 O' Clock rather than 12 - is that okay? I.e. the round did not make a full circle.

Rnd 4 (dc3, dc2 into the next st) 6 times (30). I think I've done this okay too but it is 30 stitches back to the start of the round, not all the way to the start of the spiral. I'm back at 12 O'Clock now, if that matters.

Can anyone tell where I've gone wrong? I feel like it's round 4 but I've done it several times now and it's always 30 back to my stitch marker but 40+ back to the start of the spiral.

The next round is simply Rnds 5 dc but I'm not sure what that means? Until now it's always been crochet into the next stitch but if it's not into a stitch ...then where does it go? haha Is it just like crocheting a chain?

Thanks for all your help.

3 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  Guessing you are using UK terms.

Round 3:  "(dc2, dc2 into next st) 6 times (24)"  Another way to write this is '*1 dc into each of the next  2 stitches, 2 dc into the following stitch, repeat from * a total 6 times (total of stitches =24)"

So round 2 must have had 18 stitches (3 x 6 = 18)  because in row 4 you are working over groups of 3 stitches, and creating 4 stitches out of those 3 for a total of 6 times (4 x 6 = 24).