Blanket is getting wider.

ArielBeth

Question

I'm pretty new to crocheting and decided to do a blanket as my first project, but along the way I accidently (I don't how) added stiches along the way. Do I just start dropping stiches now to get back down to my starting count?

Edited by ArielBeth

2 answers to this question

This is a really common question from new crocheters.

The size of the hook usually doesn't factor into this, BUT it's not impossible that your tension is changing overall.  Sometimes on a heavy thing like a blanket, our tension can change a little as the weight of the project grows, or during the scary part of a monster movie, this is Halloween month....

Dropping/adding stitches to try to fix this is going to look awful - you can fudge 1 stitch maybe, but not a lot.

99.9 percent of the time the issue is adding or 'shorting' a stitch on 1 or both sides, sometimes shorting 1 side and adding on the other.

What stitch are you using? I'm going to use US stitch terms - A lot of new crocheters don't understand how to deal with turning chains, and this is what is causing their DC projects to skew.

Here is an excellent site in general for a new crocheter, it is US knit and crochet standards for pattern writing and other things, but if you are in the UK the standards are pretty much the same, just the name of the stitches change.  The chapter that I've linked to is 'how to read a crochet pattern', scroll down to 'working in double crochet' and read what it says about turning chains, because this is what trips up 99.9% of new crocheters who post 'my blanket it crooked' questions.  Notice at the left side of the page I linked there are other menu topics that might be helpful in general for a newbie, and an oldbie like me.

The gist of turning chains and DC:  the turning chain counts as a DC;  It sits slightly to the outside of the stitches, it is not literally IN a stitch, but ACTS like it is in the first stitch.