Sizing Problem - New to crocheting

MattieCat

Question

Hello!  I'm new to crocheting & stupidly started an afghan without really knowing how big it will be or how many yards of yarn I'll need.  I'll give my specifics & if you could PLEASE help me out, I'd greatly appreciate it!

Ripple Crochet, all double crochet, "I" hook, Red Heart Super Saver (744 yds) 14 oz/396g, #4 medium weight, 146 chain width, @ 52" X 70" finished (guessing), 16 stitches in 4 inches wide & @ 5 stitches in 4" tall.  From the numbers I'm looking at I'll have 108 rows & about a gillion hours of crocheting.  HAHAHA!

I was hoping to do it all in one color for which I bought 2 of the big skeins of, but in case of emergency I also bought 2 skeins of Red Heart 5 oz/141g #4 medium weight variegated.

The pattern is pretty basic:  7 dc, *3 dc, 6 dc, dc3tog* - - -  I've got 9 peaks.

The goal is to donate this to a silent auction for the nursing home I work for for their Alzheimer's association group.

Can someone please help me by telling me about how much yarn I actually need & if possible any other sizing info you can give me.

Thanks in advance!  I really appreciate it!

MattieCat's mom  :-)

2 answers to this question

Me, again! Please please please someone respond to this! I really need to know how much more yarn I  need! I promise to be more careful next time! :-)

(Mattie Cat is the name of the I cat rescued. You can call me  Rose if it seems more normal. :-) )

If you have a written pattern, it should tell how much yarn you need for it.  If you don't have the pattern--I can tell you that it takes about 16 oz. of worsted weight yarn for the lap afghans we make for Veteran's hospitals.  They are 35" X 35", so that they won't get caught in the wheels of their wheelchairs.  Also, they recommend that you do NOT use wool yarn, because of possible allergies.