Help with pattern

Smsdavis

Question

I need help.   This is my first attempt at a crochet pattern.  I've practiced stiches and understand them but this pattern has me baffled. 

Do they want me to chain 3 stitches attached to nothing when it says chain 3 on row 1 ?

On row 2 I'm extremely confused.  Dc I can do.  Ch 3 is that 3 unattached chains or 3 single crochet stitches?

Then sk ch-3 sp.  

What does that mean?  Skip 1 chain but then 3 spaces... isn't that skipping 4?  

I uploaded a photo of the pattern so I don't mistype it as well as the abbreviations for each stitch. 

20171130_223233.jpg

20171130_223246.jpg

7 answers to this question

Hi, welcome to the Ville!  

You are creating "chain spaces".  You just completed a double crochet stitch.  Now you make three chains, then you make another dc.  The chains are like a little bridge between the two dc stitches.  

Sk ch-3 sp means to skip over the chain-3 space.

Welcome to Crochetville from me, too!

There's a couple of concepts that you need to know, but didn't ask. I apologize in advance, if I'm going to tell what you already know.

Chains have multiple uses. At the beginning of a row, they're used to "chain-up" to the height of a stitch. The purpose is to get you to the correct starting place. For shorter stitches, like an sc, the chain-up is ignored when counting stitches. For taller stitches, like a dc, the chain-up counts as a stitch. 

Another purpose for chains is to create a space. This is done by chaining, skipping stitches, then attaching the chain to the next stitch. The space looks like a hole. For example, ch#, sk #, dc in next stitch means that you're making a ch-# space, where # is the number of chains. Your pattern's chain number is 3. To do a ch3, sk 3, dc you do 3 chains, then you count 3 stitches, then do a dc stitch in the 4th stitch. The hole is called a ch-3 space, because it was created by 3 chains.

Chains have more uses, but those are the most common.