Pattern Help (new to pattern reading) please help!!!

SueF11

Question

I am trying to make a hat for myself. I have a pattern but whatever I do I can’t make it and I’m wondering if I’m reading the pattern wrong. 

This is my first project. I have learnt all my stitches but never actually made anything. 

This is my pattern (UK terminology)

Round 1 :

Ch 2 and work 7 htr in the 2nd ch from the hook (going through just the top loop of the chain only). Ss into the first htr to complete the round. Pulling gently on your starting yarn tail will close the hole at the centre of the round. (7)

Round 2 :
Ch 2 and work 1 htr in the same stitch. Work 2 htrs in each of the remaining stitches. Ss around the starting ch to close the round. (13)

Round 3:

Ch 2 and work 1 htr in the next stitch. (Take care to ensure you work in the correct stitch. It can be a little hidden by the chain.) *Work 1 htr in the next stitch. Work 2 htrs in the next stitch.* Repeat ** to the end of the round (ending on a 2 htr). Ss around the starting ch to close the round. (19)

When I have followed these instructions, I always end up with more stitches than what it says in (brackets) at the end. When stitching a 1 htrs in the next stitch I haven’t  skipped the 3 chains like I was taught when learning my stitches. Is this where I’m going wrong?!?! What does in mean when the pattern says “work 1 htr in the next stitch”

Jules Slouch Hat.pdf

3 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!

Your instructions are a mix of telling you to either put 1 stitch into the next 1 stitch below in the prior round, or to put 2 stitches into the next 1 stitch below in the prior round.  I hope that makes sense?  I can't think of a clearer way to say it.

When you make a flat circle, you start with a number of stitches (usually 6 for UK DC, 8 or 9 for UK HTR, 12 for UK treble), and increase by that same number number every round.