Blanket pattern help!

starburnssarah

Question

Hi there!

I am very new to crochet.  The only item I've crocheted before is a blanket but I followed a tutorial on Youtube. 

I have since bought a beginners pattern and am really stuck!

There are only 4 rows to interpret, but despite trying over and over again (and googling like crazy) I cannot interpret the following:

Row 3: with RS facing and new row color, join with sc in top of ch-3, sc in next 2 dc, working over ch-1 sp, *dc in BLO of skipped sc 2 rows below, sc in next 3; rep from * across, fasten off

I'm currently practising a mini-version of the blanket and understand all the abbreviations.  I keep trying to figure it out but it always ends up looking really wrong.

Any help would be really appreciated! 

Thank you!!

5 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville and to crocheting!

That doesn't look like a beginner's pattern.  Is it marked beginners or "easy"?  Easy is a step up from beginners.  Did you get the pattern online?  If yes, what's the link to the pattern?  If no, what's the name of the pattern, book, magazine, date (if magazine), designer or anything else that would let us find what you're making?  I assume you're making a blanket, from your last paragraph.

By the way, kudos for practicing on something smaller first!!  Make sure that your test has an even multiple of 4, since your pattern repeats 4 stitches.  If it's not 12, 16, 20, etc. stitches, that will throw off your rows.

I'm going to TRY to break down the instructions as you've written them.  I have to make some assumptions about the previous rows, since I don't know them and can't see a picture.  Basically, I'm writing this blind.  So, it may or may not be correct.  Here is my guess at the steps ...