Help with Hoooked pattern

Tfer10

Question

Hey guys, I'm new to crochet. I can do basic stitches so decided to buy a pattern. But I'm struggling to understand it!

Round 2 if the pattern calls for :

*2dc in the next 5 sts* repeat from * to * (10dc)

If I do 2 dc in 5 sts, does that not equal 10dc? If so, do I need to repeat?

Thanks in advance!

4 answers to this question

so, it's an elephant stuffed animal.  Which part of it is this?

How many stitches did you have at the end of the last round?

What does round 3 say?  

Also, are you aware that there are 2 systems of stitch names in the English language?  the UK and Australia use one system and the US uses another.  It looks to me like this is in UK terms.   a UK dc is what the US system calls an sc.  

Welcome to Crochetville!

I see that your pattern is in UK crochet terminology.  Is this your first pattern?  Where are you from?  The reason I'm asking is that there is a difference between UK/Australian crochet terms and US crochet terms.  In this forum, US terms are more common.  Check out this link ...

https://www.craftsy.com/blog/2014/10/british-vs-american-crochet-terms/

Next amigurumi patterns can be a bit different than other types of patterns.  They usually assume you've done amigurumi before.  It's important to follow the pattern exactly.  Counting every round is critical.  If you don't follow exactly and count every round, it won't come out right.

When you start an amigurumi, start with a magic ring or 2 chains.  If you start with 2 chains, make all of round 1 in the first chain.  It will expand as you add stitches.  Capture the tail as you crochet round 1.  Before you begin round 2, pull the tail taught to close the ring.  Round 2 is always an increase (2 UK DC stitches or 2 US SC stitches) in every round 1 stitch.  If round 1 was 5 stitches, round 2 will be 10.