Ripple afghan pattern help

TexasMama

Question

Hey, all. I'm new to the forums. I found this 'cause I'm trying to find someplace that might be able to help me with reading a pattern I'm having a bit of trouble deciphering. I usually don't have issue with patterns but it's been so long since I used one and I've never done a ripple afghan before. I usually just do "straight" or granny square ones. Anyway, I've got this ripple afghan I'm going to make for my little girl's toddler bed for when it's time to move her from her crib. Just a little something special for her. But for the life of me I can't figure out what this pattern is asking me to do!

Also, the pattern is written in US terminology, not the international if that makes any difference at all. 

So, first, I'm not sure how to create a gauge swatch on this one. That's the first issue. I can't figure out if my hook size is correct because of this. So I'm probably using the wrong hook to obtain my correct gauge. 

Next, in row one, at the beginning it says to dc in next ch, ch1, skip next ch twice, then dc, ch1 4 times in next chain. Do I skip a stitch before working 4 dc into the single space? I can't figure that out. And in row two (which is as far as I've ever gotten, I simply can't figure out what spaces it's telling me to work. So...basically, this entire pattern is completely hurting my head. I don't know why it just doesn't feel as clear as I think it could be. Or it's just been that long since I've seen a pattern that isn't just repetition row after row or round after round. So, thanks in advance for helping if you can. I know it's a lot to ask, I'd just really like to figure this pattern out instead of finding a different one. 

1 answer to this question