Ripple stitch gone wrong

Lkcarpenter

Question

Hello! I am very new to crocheting and have been trying to teach myself via YouTube and one crochet class. I am attempting to make an afghan with the ripple pattern. I am using only half double stitches ( this is the way my grandmother did it and I am trying to mimick her afghans.). I am experiencing 2 problems.

1. My peaks and valleys (is that what they are called) do not always line up correctly. I am trying to mark them with a safety pin but I am not sure if I am doing it correctly.

2. When I am adding 3 stitches to a peak it creates 3 more stitches in the row. When I loop back around I have 3 extra stitches. My count gets off. How do I fix this?

Any suggestions?

Sorry if this is unclear. Like I said, I am new to this and I dont know all the terminology.

11 answers to this question

well, the way I was shown, was to skip as many sts, at the beginning, till you have the exact amount you need to reach the peak,(say you started with  6 sts up to middle stitch of the peak,where you will eventually put the nxt peak, according to your pattern that is,  and six back down is your aim.. )  row after row. Does that make any sense,,,,, you will always end up with more sts than you need at the beginning of the next row, so skip the first, or even two then count up say your 6 or whatever you have to make it to the middle stitch of the peak...make your peak, then start back down, oh and .don't forget, you need to skip 2  or crochet two together twice, in the valleys.so on the 6th stitch, do two together, and on the first sth going back up, do two together, if you are doing the gaps, that is.  geez,  I wish i were more clean on this, lol I could show you so easy!!! hope you can figure out my tips, good luck!!

the link does work.