Back loop crochet continuous rounds look but in rows

Verinique

Question

Hello everyone  :hi !

I'm a crochet beginner but I LOVE IT already!!  :manyheart  I'm new to the crochetville community and I'm very happy to be part of it  :yay ! I've read several topics and everybody is very nice and helpful!  :)   

I was wondering if someone knows a way to recreate in rows the look of a back loop slitch in continuous rounds. I would really like to make a shawl with that same look. Since it's in rows I have to "switch" sides so back loop crochet all the time doesn't give the same look (compared to continuous rounds). I tried to reverse front loop when I was supposed to be on the "wrong" side but it's still not the same look. Do you know how? Can you help me out?

Thank you all so much for your time and knowledge.  :hug

Here is a photo of my hat with the back loop stitch in continuous rounds to show you what I'm talking about. 

post-73238-0-16380700-1415082546_thumb.jpg

6 answers to this question

As far as I know, you can't reverse directions and get the look you want.

What you can do is stop at the end of each row, tie off, and cut the yarn. Go back to the beginning to start the next row. All rows start along 1 edge and end along the opposite edge.

If you leave a long tail at the start and end of each row, you can have some fringe. Otherwise, you'll have to tie off and weave in all the ends.

I'll add to what RealDeal said, that if you do weave in yarn ends on each row, the last few inches on each edge of each row will become more bulky, and that changes the look and feel  of the piece.

Welcome to the ville!  

Thank you for your answers!  :)