pineapply squares blanket

BT7546

Question

Hi All, 

I am new to the site - I am a self-taught crocheter and would deem my abilities as Easy+ level. I would really like to crochet my Mother a blanket for a Christmas gift and am in the midst of deciding on a pattern. I came across a pattern for a pineapple squares throw.  The level is intermediate and I have questions with the start of Round 3 in the pattern.  I figure I might need to look for an easier pattern, however, if I'm already having issues this early on :)... but I thought I'd give it a few more attempts with the help of some much needed guidance.

Here are the directions for the first 33 rounds - my questions pertain to Round 3:

Make an adjustable ring.

Rd 1: (right side): Ch 1, work 8 sc in ring; join with slip stitch in first sc - 8 sc. Tighten ring.

Rd 2: Ch 1, 2 sc in each stitch around; join with slip stitch in first sc - 16 sc.

Rd 3: Ch 2, yarn over, insert hook in first stitch, yarn over and draw up a loop, [yarn over, insert hook in next stitch, yarn over and draw up a loop, yarn over and draw through 2 loops on hook] twice in next stitch, yarn over and draw through all 4 loops on hook (counts as first 4-dc cluster) chain 3; repeat from * around; join with slip stitch in first cluster - 8 clusters.

I am having trouble what to do with the information in the bracket and in what stitch, etc. I have too many questions to really list here, so I am wondering if someone out there can break it down for me in layman's terms step by step?

Thank you in advance for any help received!

2 answers to this question

Welcome to the ville :hook

OK, I think this is the pattern?  http://www.redheart.com/files/patterns/pdf/LW3094.pdf