Help with paw for dachshund

Gem-S

Question

Hi there, I'm fairly new to crochet and I've learnt by reading a book and watching a couple of videos online.

I've bought a crochet kit to make a dachshund but I'm stuck on the paws. I can see from the picture it's a bent leg/paw but I don't understand the instructions:

Work 6 dc into a double loop and continue working in rds in a continuous spiral.

Rnd 1: 2 dc in each dc to end

Rnd 2 - 5: dc across.

Continue with a row.

Row 1: dc across.

Close back seam.

Attach yarn to top edge of paw and dc 12 sets evenly across for shaft. Continue in rnds in a spiral.

Rnd 1: dc across.

Fasten off.

I'm not sure if it's right but so far I've done the first round 1 and rounds 2-5 in a spiral but after that I'm completely lost. Please could someone help and explain it to me in simple terms?

Many thanks post-72396-0-82417900-1406037597_thumb.jpg

6 answers to this question

Hi Gem, welcome to the ville :hook

I'm lost too , those directions do not make sense to me! It looks like a chunk of another pattern got mashed onto the paw pattern :P  Let me say I would not hesitate to contact the company that sold the kit to get help.  

I found a version of the pattern on a magazine web site, but it does not seem to include the "continue with a row" and following, unless it is in a different section.  I do see that the legs are included in the Body section, did you make that already?   http://www.craftsinstitute.com/knitting/projects/kids/toys/dachshund-ted.aspx

Are you on Ravelry (another site for crochet and knitting)?  the pattern is in their listing of patterns, and you can look at people's project photos and often that is helpful as far as seeing how things fit together.  I think you will have to sign up to see this http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ted-the-dachshund/people    Definitely seems you are not the only person to have trouble with this!