need help with this pattern

luckygrrl

Question

(Boy, this is not my day for crochet, huh. :angry )

I'm making a baby poncho, from this pattern on the Coats & Clark site and I've come to a part where I'm stumped. I've never worked with a pattern before that had anything more complicated in the repeating instructions than something like

* whatever it's asking you to do; rep from * across, etc...

I can figure out what to do inside the asterisks with those kind of instructions. Now, I've encountered a pattern with a ** and I'm a little stumped. I thought I had it figured out, until I got to the end of my row. Let me try and explain....

Here's the row that's giving me trouble (inc in this pattern means 3 sc in one stitch, btw):

Row 3: Ch 1, skip first sc, sc in next 3 sc, * inc, sc in next 2 sc; draw up a lp in next sc, skip next sc, draw up a lp in next sc, yo and draw through all 3 lps on hook – dec made; sc in next 2 sc **; rep from * to last 2 sc, end at **; skip next sc, sc in last sc; turn.

I can't figure out what the ** is trying to tell me. It seems like the ** is at the end of the repeating pattern, so I was assuming from the instructions that I'd repeat what's inside the single asterisk * until I got to the last 2 sc, I'd skip the next sc, then sc in the last sc. In which case why bother with the ** at all. However, going by that thinking, that's not where you're at in the pattern when you get to the last 2 sc!

I've got 2 sc left in the row and this is what I just completed prior to it, in red:

* inc, sc in next 2 sc; draw up a lp in next sc, skip next sc, draw up a lp in next sc, yo and draw through all 3 lps on hook – dec made; sc in next 2 sc **; rep from *