Rick Rack Baby Ripple Blanket

Annika Liv Erikson

Question

Hello! I'm new to Crochetville, and really appreciate your help!

I'm trying to make a ripple baby blanket, I'm very rusty, and wondering this: I don't have the right number of stitches at the end of my 1st row. I'm confused, because in the 3 DC (the peak) I am adding 1 stitch, and in skipping 2 (the valley) I'm loosing 2 stitches, but the pattern expects almost the same number at the end, minus 1 from the start. How can that be possible?

I've tried twice but I get 144 at the end not 156. Please help!

Here is the pattern:

BLANKET With A, ch 157. Row 1 (Right Side): Dc in 2nd ch from hook, skip next ch, * dc in next 4 ch, 3 dc in next ch, dc in next 4 ch **, skip next 2 ch; repeat from * to last 2 ch, end at **, skip next ch, dc in last ch – 156 dc.

Row 2: Working in back loops only, ch 1, turn, dc in first dc, skip next dc, * dc in next 4 dc, 3 dc in next dc, dc in next 4 dc **, skip next 2 dc; repeat from * to last 2 dc, end at **, skip next dc, dc in last dc. Repeat Row 2 for pattern stitch, working * 2 rows with B, 2 rows with C, 2 rows with D, 2 rows with E; repeat from * twice more. Repeating Row 2, work 68 rows with A. * Work 2 rows with E, 2 rows with D, 2 rows with C, 2 rows with B; repeat from * twice more. Work 2 rows with A. Fasten off. FINISHING Weave in ends.

Abbreviations A, B, C = Color A, B, C; ch = chain; cm = centimeters; dc = double crochet; mm = millimeters; st(s) = stitch(es); * or ** = repeat whatever follows the * or ** as indicated. 

2 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville!

You're actually adding 2 dc when you do the peak and skipping 2 stitches in the valley.  Your hills are sk (valley), 4 dc up the hill, 3dc (peak), 4 dc down the hill, sk (valley) = 11 stitches.  Plus there's a dc at the end of each row.  14 hills + 2 dc ends = (11 x 14) + 2 = 156.  Every row should have 156 stitches.