Pattern help for beginner/intermediate

paigeken

Question

I have been crocheting on and off for about 2 years and would consider myself a beginner/intermediate.   I am working on an afghan with a lot of different stitches to learn/practice and I am stuck.  The place I usually get stuck on any pattern is where to place a stitch.  I thought I would try this forum for help instead of bothering the poor woman at work who helps me every day :)

I feel like I basically understand this stitch, except for one or two parts. 

For this one I feel like I basically understand the instructions, but I have underlined the part that confuses me.   As you can see,  it is essentially, a placement question.   If anyone could help explain, that would be great.   Thanks in advance.

It is:

Cable Pattern
Row 4:
Ch 1, sc in first sc, *ch 3, skip next 2
unworked sc, sc in next sc, TURN and work
sc in each ch of the ch-3 just made, slip st in
the next sc (one cable made), TURN; working
behind the cable, sc in each of the 2 skipped
sc, skip the sc that was made afterthe ch-3;
repeat from * across to last sc, sc in last sc,
turn—58 cables.

Any help is appreciated. 

4 answers to this question

Welcome to the ville!

I think i understand this but don't know if i can explain it. I think there may be a tutorial somewhere for it. What is the name and location of the pattern?

eta---I googled and think I found it, is it https://www.redheart.com/files/patterns/pdf/LW3152.pdf    ?  

this makes a little sort of loop---aack i can't decribe it in words!  well anyway I think I have seen some kind of tutorial for it, so I will try to find that and come back.  

Eureka!  The designer has videos for the stitches on her site, they are both right and left handed.  Click on Videos and then on Aran Crochet   http://www.bonniebay.com   Very clear and concise, love the videos, must bookmark and remember them  :D