Crocheting in the round - completely confused!

Elysia McWatters

Question

Hey I hope I can explain this well enough that someone can help!

I've made plenty of amigurumi and crocheting in the round before (although I'm still a bit of an amateur and don't really understand the maths behind the patterns) but I've just started this pattern and I'm a bit confused. Every round ends in a slip stitch and the following round starts with a ch1, sc in same sp. Everytime I try and follow the pattern I end up with the wrong amount of stitches :/ I tried doing it my own way, ended up with right stitches, but then I got to a certain point where the pattern and colour changes and the stitches were all in the wrong spot so I've realised I really need to follow the pattern...

Here's a small sample of the pattern (the start of where I am now stuck) :

Note: I currently have 16st in my ring and need to continue with these...

Rnd 1: Working BL’s only this rnd, ch 1, 1 sc in same sp, 1 sc in next sc, sc2tog, *1 sc in each of next 2 sc, sc2tog, rep from * 2 more times, Sl st to first sc. (12 sc)

Rnd 2: ch 1, 1 sc in same sp, 1 sc in next sc, sc2tog, *1 sc in each of next 2 sc, sc2tog, rep from * once more, Sl st to first sc. (9 sc) Stop to fill with filling.

Rnd 3: ch 1, 1 sc in same sp, sc2tog, *1 sc in next sc, sc2tog, rep from * once more, Sl st to first sc. (6 sc)

I think part of the problem is I dont quite understand how to sc in same sp?

What purpose does the slip stitching and ch-1 sc in same sp have?

Cheers :)

6 answers to this question

welcome to the ville!

you slip stitch to join the round, to make it a complete circle.

You chain 1 to get your working yarn up to the height of an sc.

Does the pattern expalin what it means by sc in same space?  I think it means in the first sc of previous round but that's a funny way to say it.

is the pattern free online?  if so post a link to it.  

Thank you so much for getting back to me so quick!