sc and in same sc as next slip stitch

Pippa Jayne Mares

Question

Hi,

Could I please get some help one understanding what this means?

the row is written as so:

ch1, turn; skip first slip st, sc in next 3 sc, 2 sc in next sc, sc in next 2 sc and in same sc as next slip st: total should be 8 sts.

what I am struggling with is - sc in same sc as next slip st

are they saying to create a single crotchet and a slipstitch in the same spot?

4 answers to this question

welcome to the ville :hook

What are you making?  Is this worked in the round or in rows?  

it sounds like  in the previous row/round, there is an sc that you slip stitched into, and now you will sc in that sc.  if it is in the round, i think it will be the place where you skipped a sl at at the beginning of this round.  

Hi,

I am trying to make Sylvester - this pattern starts of in a round but then changes to rows.

thankyou for your advice, (im still new to this whole forum thing)

here is the first 4 rows of this part of the pattern

Row 1: 2 Sc in next sc, sc in next sc, slip st in next sc. leave remaining  11sc unworked.

Row 2:Ch 1. lurn: skip first slip st, (2 sc in next sc. sc in next sc) twice. slip st in next sc: 7 sts.

Row 3:Ch 1, turn; skip first slip st, sc in next 3 sc, 2 sc in next sc, sc in next 2 sc and in same sc as next slip st: 8 sc.

thanks again

It would be best to review the crochetville guidelines; posting so much of a pattern is a violation of the pattern copyright and site guidelines.   

it would be best to just post the previous row, and delete the link you posted.  

OK so here is what I think you need to do on row 3.  That last sc is actually made into the sc in row 1; just work over the slip stitch that you made in row 2.  

Try that and see if it works.  I think it should work but if not, do post again and maybe somebody else can interpret it for you better than i have.