Help with chart

Kelly Kl

Question

So I've been crocheting for a couple years now, but I've never used a crochet chart, only written patterns. I understand how to read a chart but I don't understand how to use that chart to make something. For example, if I have a chart for a border I could put that border on a piece but often I find patterns for clothing in only chart form and I don't understand how to take an irregular shaped pattern and make it into a shirt.

For example I want to make this:

http://make-handmade.com/2012/09/27/crochet-summer-sweater-girls/

And I can read the chart provided but I don't see how to go from that chart all the way to a shirt. And how am I to make the top?

2 answers to this question

Hi Kelly, welcome to the ville :hook

I really like using stitch diagrams to make things.  There are different approaches to the diagrams.  Diagrams that are made in Japan show how to make the whole garment, all the shaping is shown in the diagram.  the drawback to these is that garments are given in only one size usually.  US patterns often show the stitch pattern in diagram form and then explainn the shaping in written form.  It is my understanding that Russian patterns usually  give a few measurements in the schematic, show at least some of the stitch pattern in diagram form, and then leave it up to the user to figure out the shaping, and how to work to the measurements.