Please help

woollywonder

Question

Hi,

I am new to crochet. I taught myself most of the main stitches last year and made a blanket, Spring Throw by Nicki Trench. Ive set myself a new challenge this year - to make a garment and have chosen to make a shrug. But I'm really struggling with the pattern. Its meant to be an easy one too but I am getting confused with some of the terminology and it doesn't appear to state which stitches in the foundation chain you need to stitch the new stitches. Here is an excerpt...

Chain  52 and start in 3rd ch from hook. Crochet in every ch a sc (=51 sc and first 2 ch count as a sc)

Row 1; ch3  , dc1, * ch2,  skip 2dc, dc3* repeat 8 times, ch 2, skip 2dc, dc2

I am confused about how to do row one because the pattern does not state in which stitch of the foundation chain I need to stitch the stitches of row 1. Also when it says 'ch2, skip 2dc' - but there are no 'dc' to skip at that point because I had only crocheted single chains in the foundation chain. Also what does dc3 mean? Does it mean to put 3 double crochets in the same stitch?

Sorry if I am making myself sound totally clueless but don't understand this and feel already like I have fallen at the first hurdle!

If anyone can advise I would really appreciate it,

Thank you

7 answers to this question

It sounds like something is missing or not right. If it's a free pattern - can you post a link for us to look at? Otherwise, if it's not a free pattern, let us know the name of the pattern and the designer with the source, so maybe someone who has it or who has made it can help you out more.:)

Hi thanks for your reply. I paid for the pattern. It is the rainbow shrug designed by Bernadette Ambergen. I have read the pattern on the remaining rows and they seem to make sense. Its just row 1 I seem to be getting stuck with. If anyone can help I would be so grateful. I have purchased the pattern and the yarn just need to get past this hurdle before I can do anything else.