Help please!

MidwifeJo

Question

Hi Everyone,

I'm quite new to crochet and am self taught - with the help of the internet :)  I am working on a Red Heart pattern called Vineyard Ripple crochet shawl.  I am very confused with one aspect of the pattern and I'm really hoping someone can help.  The pattern reads:

---

CL (cluster): [yo and draw up a loop in indicated ch or st, yo and draw up 2 loops] 3 times, yo and draw through all 4 loops on hook.

---

With A ch 178

Row 1: dc in 3rd ch from hook, *ch 1, skip next ch, dc in next ch, ch 1, skip next ch, 3 dc in next ch, ch 3, 3 dc in next ch, ch 1, skip next ch, dc in next ch, ch 1, skip next ch **, CL over next 3 ch; repeat from * to last 2 ch, end at **; dc in next ch, dc in last ch changing to B; turn - 15 CL and 16 ch-3 spaces.

----

I did just fine up to the turn.  I am completely lost with the "15 CL and 16 ch-3 spaces".  

Am I supposed to do 15 clusters in one spot?  And then chain?  And am I chaining 16?  Because usually the number to chain comes after the 'ch'… and what are spaces?

Please please please help!

Thank you so much!

4 answers to this question

That is not instruction, it simply means that after you have finished that row you will have worked a total of 15 clusters and 16 chain 3 spaces across that row. It's to help you count out your stitches to make sure everything's correct. Many (but not all) patterns include a stitch count like this at the end of the row/round to help you keep on track. =)

Ahhhh!  Light dawns!  Thank you SO MUCH!!!!!!  Laughing at myself - I have seen something similar in one other pattern, now that you mention it… I guess this pattern confused me because it only did this after this one row, not throughout the whole pattern.  

Mea culpa and merci  :)