I need pattern help!

mrs_holman

Question

Hey ladies, I am in need of some help. I have a pattern for a baby afghan but am unclear on some of the instructions. I am fairly new to crocheting, and have figured out the stitches (thanks to a different book!) but am unclear about this set. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here are the instructions:

With White, ch 198 loosely. (I did that with no problem)

Row 1: (right side) DC in fourth ch from hook (3 skipped chs count as first dc) and in next 8 chs, ch 3, dc in next 10 chs. *skip next 2 chs, dc in next 10 chs, ch3, dc in next 10 chs; repeat from * across: 180 dc and 9 ch-3sps.

I pretty much got this done, but was unclear about the last portion (the 180 dc and 9 ch-3 sps.) I wasn't able to get 180 dc and couldn't understnad the 9 ch-3 sps part.

Row 2: Turn; skip first dc, work FPdc around each of the next 9 dc, (dc, ch 3, dc) in next ch 3 sp, work FPdc around each of the next 9 dc, * skip next 2 dc, work FPdc around each of the next 9 dc, (dc, ch 3, dc) in next ch 3 sp, work FPdc around each of next 9 dc; repeat from * across to last dc, leave remaining dc unworked.

For this part, I am unclear WHERE to do the (dc, ch 3, dc) and unsure about what the "in next ch 3 sp).

I really appreciate your help. I really wanted to do this blanket, but if I can't figure it out...obviously I can't! :)

Keyshia

3 answers to this question

Hi Keyshia,

Welcome to Crochetville!

It reads like you are making a variation of a ripple afghan (one that zigzags). The base row sets this up by having you crochet 10 dc's and alternating between skipping 2 chains after one set of 10 dc's, and chaining 3 (ch 3)after the 2nd set. The pattern here is 10 dc, skip 2 chains, 10 dc, chain 3. and is repeated until you get to the end of the row of 198 chains. You must have to do that 9 times until you get through all the 198 chains.