Any plans for another lace Kal?

wiz3283

I was just wondering if anyone else was thinking about another lace Kal. I am just starting to get the hang of some new stitches so I am still a beginner but I would love to join a Kal if we have another one.

Tammy, I don't know. Mamaoso was our fearless leader on the other one. She doesn't pop in quite as often as some of the rest of us so maybe she will answer you soon. I don't feel qualified to lead something like this, especially since I am gnashing teeth over a stretchy lace bindoff at the moment. Also, if your KAL went back to Branching Out, I am sure I wouldn't be interested. Even though I made it that once and I learned a lot while doing it, the pattern just never has appealled to me very much. As for something else, I would probably make a decision based on whatever criteria was chosen for the KAL. Maybe a generic Knit Whatever Lace You Want might entice me in. :D

So what patterns do you think you might be up to? I've watched some beginners jump out into fairly complex lace right away (Catheryn, for example) while others want to test the waters by dipping in a little toe.

I love the idea of a knit whatever lace you want. I am just learning to read charts and want to jump into lace but nothing too difficult yet. I know there are others who are much more advance than I am so they may not be interested in anything too simple. That's why I like the whatever you want idea.

I guess I will see what eeyone else wants to do. If there are no takers then I will just have to go off on my own.

I was surprised at just how complex Branching Out turned out to be and I think maybe Mamaoso was, too, from something she said on that KAL. The designer intended to give beginners a narrow scarf which incorporates most the major stitches you will encounter in lace knitting, I believe. She accomplished that.