Rejected before I begin?

Today a friend of DH came over for coffee. While we were chatting, I was working on a babyghan for my little sister. I'm using KrochetKrystal's daisy square pattern with a delicate cotton and they're very pretty squares - it's my first time to make them and I think I've finally got the hang of it. :lol Anyway, DH's friend was watching me, fascinated, and asked what I was doing. I explained it was going to be a babyghan for my sister and laid down the square beside one I'd just done.

And he just wrinkled his nose sceptically and made a "Bleurgh!" sound, like a grunt!

The thing is, his soon-to-be wife is also pregnant and I was going to make them a ghan for their new arrival, but I think he's made his feelings about crocheted blankets quite clear :yes He and his wife are kind of "shickey-mickey," as you say in German, a bit hoity-toity - only the best for them and their child. Would I be right to can the idea of a handmade babyghan and buy them something instead?

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't know his wife very well at all, but she's of the same ilk - likes everything "perfect" and preferably with a designer label. I was going to buy some expensive eco-cotton because she's really into having everything eco-friendly - would prefer the kind of cotton hand-picked by barefoot maidens in the Peruvian mountains, hehe :lol - but I don't know if I want to invest the time or money into something that they might find 'hick'. I don't want to embarrass my husband either, I don't want them to smirk about our quaint present and not recognise the work or care that goes into it.

Oh, dear. I think I've answered my own question. I think I'll just make babyghans for people who'd appreciate them :(

I'd check with his wife too. Men dont think the same as we do. My cousin is that way, only the best, only name brand, etc but she loves the blankets I made for her kids when they were born.