Caron Yarn

windsong

I like working with Caron's Simply Soft- I just finished a red scarf for my daughter and a berry blue one for me- simple alternating sc/dc stitch. Don't know how they will hold up since I've never used it before. I don't have a HL and have never used "I Love this Yarn" although I have seen alot of posts that say people like using it.

Simply Soft is OK, I've used it off and on when I had it on hand, but if given a choice between it & HL's "I Love This Yarn", I'd pick the HL yarn. Just my personal preference though. For 'standard' acrylic yarn, "I Love This Yarn" is my first choice over any of the others.

Simply soft seems to split from the hook when I use it. Not my first pick for a yarn.

:manyheart

I'd pick ILTY over Simply Soft but if you're talking about the Caron Pounders, that's kind of a different yarn. Depending on the pattern, I might use the ILTY or the Caron Pounder. I like them both!

The Caron one pounders have some softness, but not as much as ILTY. Both yarns have a firmness that's nice to work with. I have limited experience with Simply Soft, because I find it less substantial to work with. Though I think it would drape nicely compared to the firmer yarns. ILTY seems to combine nicely both the softness and firmness that I like; however, the color selection is limited to start with, and the HL store I go to often doesn't replenish its stock of colors as well as they could. Over the years, I've used a lot of Red Heart Super Saver because of the good color selection and availability -- and despite its somewhat rough feel before it's washed.

Caron One Pound is one of my very favorite yarns, I only wish it came in a few more colors! I don't care for the slippery limp feel of the Caron Simply Soft, though, and have never used any.