Purchasing Yarn

As I am sure most of you do, I love buying yarn, especially when its on sale. But I am not sure that I buy it in the best way. What I mean is, I generally will just grab a skein or two without really thinking about what project I am doing. And since I am still a newbie crocheter (1 month!), I have just been trying out random projects. I think I am more drawn to the colors or textures of the yarn. So my questions are:

How many skeins of each color do you usually buy?

Do you buy randomly or with specific projects in mind?

Should I just stop analyzing it and buy what I want? :lol

:lol:lol I ususally buy whatever is on the clearance aisle :lol. I am a more random buyer with nothing in specific in mind. I add the :yarn to my stash, and when I cross a pattern I would like to make I go stash digging :lol:lol.

I try to buy with a project in mind, I'm also a newer Crocher (2months, going on 3) but one day I was in Joann's and they had sales on yarn, so I bought some skeins with "possible" ideas of what to use them for, in mind.

:yarn just jumps in my carriage when I am out :yes

I rarely buy for a specific project. I buy what I like... the "ooooh" factor. then, when I want to make something, I go shoppin' in my stash:D

When I see a new yarn I like the looks of, I'll buy a skein to play with. You can learn about the yarn by swatching --and washing!--it, and then you'll know if you might want to use it for a larger project. You can try out new stitch patterns this way too, and things like edgings. I don't buy large quantities of yarn unless i have a project in mind. Of course i sometimes change my mind later. ;)

I used to buy randomly and I've ended up with a ton of yarn I will likely never use. Now I try to buy only when I have a project in mind or if its a sale on a yarn I know I will use in the future.

Usually I'll buy about 5 skeins if I don't have an exact project because I can complete a lot with that much