lizdini

who taught you to crochet?  

612 members have voted

1. 1. who taught you to crochet?

• a professional
    • a family member/friend
    • self-taught with help from books/internet
    • just picked up a hook and never looked back

My Grandma tried to teach me how to crochet as a munchkin, but I never figured out how to work into the chain. Then my mother-in-law showed me the basics after I got married and with the help of some books and online forums :hook I feel pretty good about my skills. So I was wondering, who taught you to crochet?

A wonderful lady at a former church I went to named Judy. My Mom taught me how to chain when I was little. She passed away when I was 15. Being a lefty, I was too young to have much patience to learn. So, when we moved to TN., they were starting a class at church and I thought, "I'll give it another shot"!

I am so thankful I did! I loved the things my mom made and now I get to do the same kinds of things!!!

My grandmother taught me the basics years ago. I then didn't pick up the hook for many years and she had already passed when I wanted to get started back so I hit the internet, found lots of video tutorials and was able to pick it back up.

Me - myself and I ! I had a neighbor who knit and taught me but it was just after I was married that I took an interest in learning crochet - I don't know why but I just got bit by the bug so to speak!

I taught myself with a "how-to-crochet" kit from Michael's! :D