First Attempt at a Kitty Sweater

FosterMom

I volunteer for a cat rescue and I am trying to make some sweaters for the kitties that have to be shaved, have surgery, etc. Since I am only good at making afgans this is a huge step for me.

This is my first try being modeled by our foster son Noah. I messed up the leg holes so I am thinking of just doing a belly band instead of real legs but I am not sure how to modify a pattern.

This one is just the very basic with no frills just to see if I could actually do it. Since it's an easy single and double crochet I think I could do it in many differnt colors and pattern IF I can get the hang of it.

Please give your honest opinion. I can use any help and pointers that I can get.

Thanks for looking.

th_noahsweater.jpg

The leg holes look fine to me. I would think it would make them easier to get legs through if you have a little bit of ease (and would ease movement, too). And I like how the length on the back is long and covers the back completely. All in all, I say "Great job!" and I can't believe you winged it. Patty

It looks like you did a very good job for a first non-afghan project! Now that you have ventured out, keep trying new things. Soon you will be able to make almost anything.:)

I am impressed...first you did a great job :clapand second you managed to get a cat to wear one:eek. My Princesses would never stand for sweaters.:( But I know that if they had no fur They would be glad for the warmth. Great job:cheer

WOW, thanks again for the compliments! The woman that runs the rescue says they are perfect, they dont have to be show items, just functional items. I am getting better as I go along, just wish they didnt have to be stitched together. :(