Sweetheart Ripple Afghan CAL

crochetkim

This is my first time starting a CAL, so I hope I'm getting this correctly!

Several people mentioned wanting to start a crochet-along for the Sweetheart Ripple Afghan in the February 2009 Crochet World magazine.

SweetheartRippleCover.jpg

Here are some helpful posts from other threads on the 'Ville.

Tips about the modified fptc (or, I believe it may be called fptc-sc in the magazine):

I will let you know that I invented this stitch because I never liked the bumpy texture on the back of afghans when I make a post stitch. I love the post stitches, but I wanted the back to be flat. The back of this afghan is perfectly flat and appears in stripes. Really neat how it's striped on one side and hearts on the other.

So, you will yarn over twice, insert your hook to one side of the stitch indicated* (the right side if you are right-handed), wrap the hook around the back of the single crochet indicated then back out the other side. Now, yarn over and pull the loop through. 4 loops now on hook. (Yarn over and pull through 2 loops) twice. 2 loops now on hook.

Now, here is the modified part. Insert your hook in the next stitch of your current row (not the ones below). Yarn over and pull up a loop. Yarn over and pull through 3 loops on hook to close.

The modification here is that you don't skip the stitch on the current row the way you do with a regular post stitch. That's what causes the bumpiness in the back. Since you are incorporating the stitch, it makes it nice and smooth.