How do you keep yourself on task for big projects?

amaryllisse

Question

I've wanted to make afghans for awhile, but I always get distracted by smaller projects that somehow butt in. I take *forever* to get something done. Not because I'm a slow crocheter, but because I keep starting new projects. I have 4 going on at home right now....

Is there a trick to making it all the way to the end? How do you keep yourself on track and finish such a huge project? :think

11 answers to this question

I have the same "problem". I have a queen size granny square blanket that I've been working on for over 2 years now and I wanted to have it done by Christmas (not looking good). Some people just don't like to be working on more than one or 2 projects at a time, or work so fast that they're done before they get bored. A really good idea for afghans that I got from a woman in one of my classes is that she likes to have one in progress folded at the foot of her bed so that she can work on a few rows of it every night before bed, or if she can't sleep.

Oh, and if you think 4 projects is bad, I probably have at least 10 and am almost constantly starting something new.

I know that if I start a really large project that I am going to get sick of doing it at some point in time so I will allow myself only two others to fill in. I am really anal about making sure one thing is done before going onto another. If I am working on something large, I will allow myself to do really simple stuff, like dishcloths, on those nights when I am too tired to think. I will also allow a break with a small project like a simple doily or thread angel, etc., to break up the task.

Like I said, if I get more than that going at once, I get way to confused, forget where I am, have to frog to get my head back into the pattern and it just is not worth it.

That's what works for me,

TLOL,

Toni