Advice for a novice

crochetstepmom

I bought a large lot of crochet supplies from a woman on craigslist yesterday. After I sorted it all, there were 3 bags of thread. Some of it is old, some new, some partially used, and some still in the original packaging. Most of it is size 10, but there is some size 20. I had originally thought that I would sell or trade the thread (and I still might,) but after seeing all of it...I don't know...it's sooooo pretty! I thought that before I decided, I should at least try it!!!!

So, I've never used thread before. The smallest hook I have ever used was a D. My grandmother crocheted with both thread and yarn, and I always suspected that thread was her favorite. It would be nice to honor her memory by learning.

I do have two of her steel hooks (a 4 and a 12) and several pattern books and magazines. Many of the patterns that she had are very advanced, as was she. I don't want to start off with something so ambitious.

I'm a little overwhelmed and nervous, so I thought that I would ask the experts. What's a good basic way to start? What's a good basic project with a simple pattern? I assume that a 7 hook is the best to use with this thread (that's the suggested hook on most of the thread labels.) Do you have any other suggestions ?

Thanks very much!

A crochet stitch is a crochet stitch in yarn or in thread. :yes The only difference is the size of material you are working with.

If you are just starting out I would definately recommend using the size 10 with a size 7 hook. The main thing with thread is the tension.

You will just have to work with the thread till you get a "feel" for the tension you are comfortable with and the stitches are even.