Tweaking a ripple design....?

mellybelly

Question

I have been working on one of Stitchinpick's Quickie Ripple afghans. And BOY OH BOY do I LOVE IT!

Stitchinpick's Quickie Ripple Pattern

A co-worker wants me to make her a blanket/throw, and I know she LOVES UT sports, whose colors are orange and white. Do ya'll think this design would look as good using two colors? Personally, I think the simplicity of it in one color is what makes it so pretty.

I guess the reason I'd like to try the two colors on this pattern is purely selfish....its alot of fun and I enjoy making it, and I can actually GET IT RIGHT :lol. So, I'd feel better giving it as a gift because I know I can make it well, without mistakes.

If I were to make it with two colors, would I make an even number of rows in each color, or stagger them? (I know, its painfully obvious that I have little experience at ripples.) For instance, would I work say, 6 rows of white, then 6 rows of orange or would it be better to work 8 rows of orange and 4 rows of white, etc?

I'd appreciate any suggestions/opinions! :)

9 answers to this question

I usually do even stripes, I have seen some very pretty afghan done in uneven stripes. My suggestion is to play with the colors and se what you like best. Another thought is ... You have to use two strands of yarn... You could always do one white and one orange held together!

I did this exact pattern with 4 colors of caron simply soft. Mine was made to fit a toddler bed so not as big as the original but it worked great with colors. I laid the skeins out side by side to play with how I wanted it. Most ripples I have see on peoples couches are done with a few shades of colors. Mary

2406773760035973728S200x200Q85.jpg